Felicitation Conference

Mindfulness: A career, A journey, A life

Saturday, 05th February 2022

To celebrate venerable Uda Eriyagama Dhammajiva Thero’s 70th birthday and his 33 year monastic life, his contribution to the Buddha’s Dispensation (sāsana), introducing mindfulness to school children and dissemination of mindfulness amongst all.
A free online event organized by Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery, Sri Lanka

About Venerable Uda Eriyagama Dhammajiva Thero

Venerable Dhammajiva Thero is a Theravada Bhikkhu who is the Abbot, Chief Preceptor and Chief Meditation Master of a traditional forest monastery, Nissarana Vanaya, located in Meethirigala, Sri Lanka. His monastic career spans over three decades. Since his higher ordination in July 1989, and after several years of intensive meditation practice in seclusion under the guidance of his teachers, he underwent further training in Burma with the late Syadaw U Panditha for several years.
venerable Uda Eriyagama Dhammajiva Thero
After returning to Sri Lanka venerable Dhammajiva Thero has been continuously teaching meditation to thousands of students – both Bhikkhus and lay yogis, during large numbers of retreats organised at Nissarana Vanaya and multiple other centres in Sri Lanka and overseas. His teachings are always based on the four foundations of Mindfulness and when discussing a variety of the Buddha’s discourses during meditation retreats, he always focuses on mindfulness as a fundamental core-teaching embedded within the Dhamma.
During the past five years, venerable Dhammajiva Thero has been investing his experiential understanding, knowledge, time and effort to disseminate mindfulness amongst school children and the entire education fraternity in Sri Lanka. His brainchild, ‘Sati Pasala’ or Mindful School, is now a recognised entity and works in partnership with the Ministry of Education to train teachers and all educators in mindfulness. As a result of these tireless efforts, Mindfulness will be included into the school education curriculum in Sri Lanka.
Venerable Dhammajiva Thero will be 70 years on February 5th, 2022, and a simple felicitation is being organised to mark the day. During two online sessions spanning over nine hours, renowned speakers from across the globe will make presentations and discuss topics that are globally relevant, as well as close to the heart of venerable Dhammajiva Thero. They will pay tribute, appreciating his contribution to the Buddha Sasana, his teachings to devotees and his students from around the world.

Guest Speakers

Venerable Bhikkhu Bodhi
Venerable Bhikkhu Bodhi
Bhante Yogavaccara Rahula
Bhante Yogavaccara Rahula
Venerable Ringu Tulku Rinpoche Thero
Venerable Ringu Tulku Rinpoche Thero
Venerable Dewalegama Achala Thero
Venerable Dewalegama Achala Thero
Dr Richard Davidson
Dr Richard Davidson
Mr Chris Ruane
Mr Chris Ruane
Dr Hamir Ganla
Dr Hamir Ganla
Ms Kaira Jewel
Ms Kaira Jewel

Program

The morning session starting at 8 am Sri Lanka time (IST : +530 GMT ) will focus on venerable U. Dhammajiva Theros Monastic life, tributes in his honour and a panel discussion on his visionary project Sati Pasala and its activities.

The evening session starting at 5.30 pm Sri Lanka time (IST : +530 GMT ) will include two panel discussions with the participation of well known international guest speakers and tributes to venerable Dhammajiva Thero.

This event is free to participate. However we request that you register so that we can communicate conference connection details and make arrangements to manage the online session capacity.

Please refer the full program below and download a copy. Click here to convert to the times applicable to your location – Time zone converter

Morning Session (Sinhala)

8.00 am to 11.30 am Sri Lanka Time (GMT + 5.30)

Introduction to the morning session

IST: 8:00 am | GMT: 2:30 am | AEDT: 1:30 pm | CET: 3:30 am |EST: 9:30 pm (4th Feb)

Welcome Address and proceedings

Hemantha Ranawaka, Joint Secretary, Administrative Board, Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery

Tribute

Venerable Dhammajiva’s monastic career

Venerable Panadure Chandaratana Thero, Deputy Abbot, Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery

Panel Discussion 1

Mindfulness into Schools  :  The Sri Lankan story

Moderated by Deepal Sooriyarachchi – Mindfulness Trainer

Sati Pasala : Genesis and Evolution

Ranjana Walpola, President Sati Pasala Foundation, Sri Lanka

Pirivena Education and the role of Sati Pasala

Venerable Maramba Chandawimala Thero, Assistant Director of Education, Meditation and Pirivena Education

Sati Pasala integration into the national education system

Dr Sunil Navaratne, Director General, National Institute of Education

Sati Pasala in schools

Ms. Ajitha Wanniarachchi, Director, Dompe Educational Division

Tributes

Venerable Aturugiriye Dhammavihari Thero
Sati Pasala Kaduwela

Aruna Manatunga
Student & Supporter

Conclusion of Morning Session

Address by venerable U. Dhammajiva Thero


Closing Remarks

Hemantha Ranawaka

 

Afternoon Session (English)

5.30 pm to 11.30 pm Sri Lanka Time (GMT + 5.30)

Introduction to the Afternoon Session

IST: 5:30 pm | GMT: 12:00 pm | AEDT: 11:00 pm | CET: 1:00 pm | EST: 7:00 am

Welcome Address and introducing speakers

Dr Tara de Mel

Tributes

IST: 5:30 pm | GMT: 12:00 pm | AEDT: 11:00 pm | CET: 1:00 pm | EST: 7:00 am

Venerable Bhikkhu Bodhi

Chuang Yen Monastery, USA

Bhante Yogavaccara Rahula

Lion of Wisdom Meditation Centre, USA

Venerable Ringu Tulku Rinpoche Thero

Tibetan Buddhist Master and Founder Bodhicharya

Panel Discussion 2

IST: 6:30 pm | GMT: 1:00 pm | AEDT: 12:00 am (6th Feb) | CET: 2:00 pm | EST: 8:00 am

Mindfulness : Myths & Misconceptions

Moderated by Dr Tara de Mel

Dr Richard Davidson

Founder, Center for Healthy Minds, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Mr Chris Ruane

International Lead, Mindfulness Initiative, UK

Venerable U. Dhammajiva Thero

Abbot, Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery, Sri Lanka

Break

Panel Discussion 3

IST: 8:30 pm | GMT: 3:00 pm | AEDT: 2:00 am (6th Feb)| CET: 4:00 pm | EST: 10:00 am

Meditation techniques : Different Lineages

Moderated by Harsha Gunasena, President, Administrative Board, Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery

Dr Hamir Ganla

Teacher, Vipassana Research Institute (founded by S.N.Goenka), India

Venerable Devalegama Achala Thero

Luang Por Teean method of Thailand

Venerable Panadure Chandaratana Thero

Traditional Sri Lankan method and Mahasi Sayadaw method of Myanmar

Ms Kaira Jewel

Plum Village Zen Tradition 

Tributes

Launching of Festschrift

Somabandhu Kodikara, Melbourne, Australia

Tribute by student and supporter

Ms. Badra Samarakoon, Melbourne, Australia 

Conclusion of Afternoon Session

Address by venerable U. Dhammajiva Thero

Closing Remarks

Harsha Gunasena

All Speakers

Venerable Bhikkhu Bodhi

Venerable Bhikkhu Bodhi
Chuang Yen Monastery, USA
read more…

Bhante Yogavaccara Rahula

Bhante Yogavaccara Rahula
Lion of Wisdom Meditation Centre, USA
read more…

Venerable Ringu Tulku Rinpoche Thero

Venerable Ringu Tulku Rinpoche Thero
Founder Bodhicharya, read more…

Venerable Dewalegama Achala Thero

Venerable Dewalegama Achala Thero
Meditation Teacher, Luang Por Teean
method of Thailand, read more…

Venerable Maramba Chandawimala Thero Assistant Director of Education, Meditation and Pirivena Education

Venerable Maramba Chandawimala Thero
Assistant Director of Education,
Meditation and Pirivena Education, read more…

venerable Panadure Chandaratana Thero Deputy Abbot, Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery

Venerable Panadure Chandaratana Thero
Deputy Abbot, Mitirigala Nissarana
Vanaya Monastery, read more…

venerable Aturugiriye Dhammavihari Thero Sati Pasala Kaduwela

Venerable Aturugiriye Dhammavihari Thero
Sati Pasala Kaduwela, read more…

Dr Richard Davidson

Dr Richard Davidson
Founder. Center for Healthy Minds,
University of Wisconsin-Madison USA, read more…

Mr Chris Ruane

Mr Chris Ruane
International Lead,
Mindfulness Initiative, UK
read more…

Dr Hamir Ganla

Dr Hamir Ganla
Teacher, Vipassana Research Institute
(founded by S.N.Goenka), India
read more…

Ms Kaira Jewel

Ms Kaira Jewel
Plum Village Zen Tradition, USA
read more…

Deepal Sooriyarachchi Mindfulness Trainer

Deepal Sooriyarachchi
Mindfulness Trainer
read more…

Ranjana Walpola President, Sati Pasala Foundation, Sri Lanka

Ranjana Walpola,
President of Sati Pasala Foundation,
Sri Lanka, read more…

Dr Sunil Navaratne Director General, National Institute of Education

Dr Sunil Navaratne
Director General, National Institute of Education, read more…

Ms. Ajitha Wanniarachchi Director, Dompe Educational Division

Ms. Ajitha Wanniarachchi
Director, Dompe Educational Division
read more…

Hemantha Ranawaka Joint Secretary, Management Committee, Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery

Hemantha Ranawaka
Joint Secretary, Administrative Board,
Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery, read more…

Aruna Manatunga Student & Supporter

Aruna Manatunga
Student & Supporter
read more…

Ms. Badra Samarakoon Student and Supporter

Ms. Badra Samarakoon
Student and Supporter
read more…

Somabandhu Kodikara

Somabandhu Kodikara
read more…

Tara

Dr Tara de Mel
read more…

Harsha Gunasena President, Management Committee, Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery

Harsha Gunasena
President, Administrative Board,
Mitirigala Nissarana Vanaya Monastery, read more…